We must keep training ourselves to be attuned to the changes around us in order to come across as enlightened and dexterous teachers. Keeping this in mind, a Summer Teachers’ Training Programme was planned for the teachers of Delhi Public School. The programme aimed at not only helping the teachers whet their teaching finesse but also unwind through an array of sessions. The day started with a spirited walk, Power Up exercises or Yoga session which infused them with the verve to learn new things in the ensuing times. This was succeeded by a music session facilitated by our well-endowed music teachers.

There were different training sessions to enhance the teaching skills of teachers: JWAP (Junior Wing Academic Programme), ICT, Language Proficiency, Pedagogy Sessions and Panel Discussions. A multitude of pedagogy topics were taken up by the teachers in the form of sessions and panel discussions. Sessions like ‘Learning to Learn’, ‘Practise...Practise…Practise’, ‘Effective Body Language in the Classroom and Discipline’, ‘Bridging the Gap from Curriculum to Pedagogy to Assessment’ were facilitated by the teachers of the school. Likewise in Language Proficiency session various topics were discussed. ‘How to write a Book Blurb’, ‘Brush up Your English’ and ‘Subject-Verb Agreement’ sessions were conducted.  These sessions were held to help the teachers speak and write impeccably. RC Surfing provided the teachers an opportunity to delve into areas hitherto unknown to them.

Proficient experts in various fields shared their sapience with the teachers in order to help them become effective teachers. Mrs Harinder Dhillon, Ex Principal Khalsa College, in her address to the teachers urged them to be empathetic in order to be mentors dedicated to their pious jobs. Mrs Harminder Kaur Grewal, an ex Olympian and an erudite litterateur apprised the teachers of the rich Indian legacy that has been bestowed upon us through our culture, language and literature. DPS teachers unwound themselves through a fun filled activity on the last day of the Summer Training before the vacation. The Principal Mrs. Balmit Kaur inspirited the teachers to rejuvenate themselves in the vacation in order to be the zealous and competent teachers that the students cherish. This was followed by a sumptuous lunch which not only tickled their palate but also spared them some quality time to exchange some lively talk on their plans to enjoy the forthcoming holidays.

Added on: 27 May 2017

Published by: School Admin